Handmade Heroes!

I never really liked conventional products that you find off the shelves of Watsons or Guardian. They are always loaded with weird chemicals and stabilisers that were absolutely foreign to me. Do we really need such chemicals to make our skin glow? And personally, because I have sensitive skin, I would have to be extra careful about the products that I use. I always believed in organic and natural stuff to nourish our bodies on the inside and out. In my search for cruelty-free make up, I found Handmade Heroes at the corner of Naiise and thought, hey this seems pretty natural plus no animal testing was done, immediately I signed myself up receive these awesome goodies.

fds

Handmade Heroes is a skincare company based in Singapore. Their products aren’t made in the lab but handmade at home, free of preservatives, parabens, vegan and cruelty free. So I was sponsored these 3 awesome products the Beauty Warrior Face Mask, Drop Dead Gorgeous Dry Shampoo, and Lip Scrub.

Beauty Warrior Face Mask

I never knew that clay masks came in powder form, so I was pretty taken aback by that. Typically, clay masks came pre-made in tubes. Apparently, powdered forms are better because the water would activate some enzymes (?) right on the spot whereas the pre-made ones have already been activated, hence not as effective. Handmade Heroes offer a wide range of clay masks, the one I got was the french green clay masks. It is said to remove blackheads and perfect for acne-prone skin, removing impurities and tightening pores. Not only that, it also brightens up my skin and my forehead is less red. I love how cooling it is on my skin and how it leaves my skin feeling really refreshed and hydrated. Alternatively, you could use it as a gentle face exfoliator.

Directions:

Face masks: 2 spoonful of powder with 1 1/2 spoonful of water

Exfoliator: 1/2 spoonful with 4 spoonful of water

*the spoon is given in the clay masks in case you were wondering*

IMG_0827

Drop Dead Gorgeous Dry Shampoo

I’ve tried dry shampoos before, but never in powdered form. The ones I use are in spray form. I had quite a tough time applying this to my hair by myself, so I had to get B to help me dust some on my scalp. All you need to do is expose your hair line and dust some of the product along it, and massage it onto your scalp. I’d definitely use this when I’m lazy to wash my hair with soap or when I feel my hair needs a break from all those chemicals present in conventional shampoos.

IMG_1013

Lip Scrub

I’ve never used a lip scrub in my life, so this was a first. It was literally like sugar, and the best part of it was that it’s edible because it was made out of sugar, coconut oil, almond oil and vitamin E. Yes, I licked it off 😛 It behaved like an exfoliator, removing all the dead skin cells on my lips. Indeed, the difference was really significant. My lips felt softer and smoother almost immediately!

If you wish to purchase these all natural, paraben, preservative, vegan, cruelty-free, handmade awesome goodness, simply click here to access their online store. Alternatively, you could head down to any Naiise store, they are bound to have their products there 🙂 I hope you have fun using them as I have.

IMG_0980

Leave a Reply

