Vegan Celebrities and Influencers

Part of why we eat meat is due to society’s influence. Celebrities, Politicians and nowadays Instagram famous people, are setting the trends and whatever they eat or do will have some sort of impact on their audience. They have shaped our perception on things. They have set the standards as to what is normal. This is why many of us are afraid of attempting something different. To be bold and courageous to have our opinions. I find this particularly prevalent in Asian communities where we are taught to just follow instead of having a mind of our own to make decisions and have our own opinions. Fortunately, we have Vegan celebrities and Instagram influencers that are bold and brazen, going against social norms to promote what they believe is right for themselves, the animals and others. That’s right, promoting Veganism.

Here are some of them that follow a Vegan diet:

  • The Veronicas (Lisa and Jessica)
  • Ellen Degeneres
  • Ariana Grande (since 2013)
  • Liam Hemsworth (since 2015)
  • Stevie Wonder (since 2015)
  • Sia (since 2014)
  • Woody Harrelson (over 10 years)
  • Miley Cyrus (since 2014)
  • Al Gore
  • Moby

Why I say ‘diet’ is because there has been speculations that these celebrities aren’t 100% Vegan. Some of them still purchase leather, wool and silk. That is still contributing to the slaughter of animals. However, I must say that they are paving the way for more youths to go Vegan or at least follow a Vegan diet. The benefits are real. Back in those days where Ariana was still in Nickelodeon, she was a wee bit chubby. However, soon after transitioning to a Vegan diet, she regained her health and lost a couple of pounds. Right now, she has never looked better. Here are some quotes from these celebrities.

‘After all the information I gathered about the mistreatment of animals, I couldn’t continue to eat meat. The more I was aware of, the harder and harder it was to do. About six months ago I went and saw a nutritionist to do a blood-diet analysis. He basically told me, based on my blood type and all the other different little tests they do, that red meat was good for me, and I should eat a lot more red meat and various other foods. So I started doing that, and the more red meat I ate, the worse I felt.’

Liam Hemsworth

‘I love animals more than I love most people, not kidding. But I am a firm believer in eating a full plant-based, whole food diet that can expand your life length and make you an all-around happier person.’

Ariana Grande

‘My reason for becoming a vegetarian was simple: I loved (and love) animals and I don’t want to be involved in anything that leads to or contributes to their suffering … Then I thought, ‘I don’t want to contribute to animal suffering. But the cows and chickens in commercial dairy and egg farms are pretty miserable, so why am I still eating milk and eggs?’ So in 1987 I gave up all animal products and became a vegan. Simply so that I could eat and live in accordance with my beliefs that animals have their own lives, that they’re entitled to their own lives and that contributing to animal suffering is something that I don’t want to be a part of’

Moby from Rolling Stones

Recently, The Veronicas were body-shamed by their fans, saying that they were too skinny and they shouldn’t be following a Vegan diet. Their response was

‘It’s constant. It’s usually people who aren’t invested in us as artists, they don’t know what’s going on in any capacity. They have these big opinions and it’s very frustrating. None of it makes sense.’

Read more here.

Here’s  an interview with Ellen DeGeneres as she speaks about why she became Vegan.

[kad_youtube url=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgEXRPUxrTA” ]

And here’s an interview with Miley

[kad_youtube url=”https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIneZ-s14_Q” ]

There are many celebrities out there, Youtubers, and Instagramers that have millions of followers. They have the potential to influence the masses, to spread a message so great such as Veganism. And I think this is why freelee is so upset. I’m so delighted to see these celebrities stepping forward, to change the world and make it a better place.

You can too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

